When is the 2023/24 Champions League Round of 16 draw

Advertisement

The 2023/24 Champions League is set to take a break of two months starting from mid-December, paving the way for the Round of 16 stage scheduled for February 2024.

This season marks the final run of the traditional group stage format for determining qualifications for the knockout rounds. Significant format changes are on the horizon for the 2024/25 campaign.

The top two teams from Groups A to H will secure automatic berths into the Round of 16. Following this stage, the tournament transforms into a direct elimination-style setup, albeit with matchups spanning two legs.

Advertisement

The journey toward the Round of 16 commences with the UEFA draw, and comprehensive details regarding the event—including its date, time, broadcast, and streaming information—are readily available.

For those seeking information about the Champions League Round of 16 draw, it is scheduled to take place at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland, on Monday, December 18, 2023, at 12 noon CET (6 a.m. ET).

During the draw, teams will be sorted into two categories: group winners and second-place finishers. Each runner-up will be randomly paired with a group winner.

Notably, teams from the same country cannot face each other until at least the quarterfinals. Third-place finishers in each Champions League group will transition into the Europa League playoff round.

 

What time is the Champions League Round of 16 draw?

Date Kickoff time
USA Mon, Dec. 18 6 a.m. ET
Canada Mon, Dec. 18 6 a.m. ET
UK Mon, Dec. 18 11 a.m. GMT
Australia Mon, Dec. 18 10 p.m. AEST
India Mon, Dec. 18 4:30 p.m. IST
Hong Kong Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. HKT
Malaysia Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. MYT
Singapore Mon, Dec. 18 7 p.m. SGT
New Zealand Tue, Dec. 19 12 a.m. NZST

 

Teams in the Uefa Champions League Round of 16: Every team qualified 

Team Date progressed Group
Manchester City (ENG) Nov. 7 Group G
RB Leipzig (GER) Nov. 7 Group G
Bayern Munich (GER) Nov. 8 Group A
Real Madrid (SPA) Nov. 8 Group C
Real Sociedad (SPA) Nov. 8 Group D
Inter Milan (ITA) Nov. 8 Group D
Atletico Madrid (SPA) Nov. 28 Group E
Lazio (ITA) Nov. 28 Group E
Borussia Dortmund (GER) Nov. 28 Group F
Barcelona Nov. 28 Group H