How to read ‘Percy Jackson’ sequel and spin-off series in order


Rick Riordan, renowned for his creation of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians books, is actively involved in Disney Plus’ new series adaptation. Despite his prior involvement in the two earlier film adaptations (released in 2010 and 2013), fans are hopeful that this fresh attempt will yield better results.

The book series that serves as the foundation for Disney Plus’ new Percy Jackson series comprises numerous books, including spin-offs featuring characters other than Percy as central figures. The journey begins with “Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief,” which debuted in 2005.

The original series, penned by Riordan, consists of five books:

  • “The Lightning Thief” (2005)
  • “The Sea of Monsters” (2006)
  • “The Titan’s Curse” (2007)
  • “The Battle of the Labyrinth” (2008)
  • “The Last Olympian” (2009)

These books mark the inception of the Camp Half-Blood Chronicles, with Percy delving into the world of Greek mythology, discovering its reality. The overarching narrative spans these five books, focusing on Percy’s quest to prevent the titan Kronos from resurrecting himself after Zeus previously defeated him.

Moreover, a sixth book titled “The Chalice of the Gods,” released in 2023, continues the Percy Jackson series after the events of “The Heroes of Olympus.” To maintain chronological reading, it’s advisable to await its inclusion.

The series also includes several spin-off stories, such as “The Demigod Files” (2009), featuring tales between books four and five, and “Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods” (2014), narrated by Percy, exploring Greek mythology.

“The Heroes of Olympus” serves as a direct sequel to “Percy Jackson & the Olympians,” alternating chapters among different demigods, including Percy. This subsequent series introduces Roman Gods alongside Greek Gods, portraying them as similar deities with distinct personalities.

Within “The Heroes of Olympus,” there are two spin-off books:

  • “The Demigod Diaries” (2012), akin to “The Demigod Files,” with short stories and puzzles.
  • “Demigods of Olympus” (2015), an interactive e-book.

Riordan simultaneously crafted “The Kane Chronicles,” less interconnected with Percy Jackson but set in the same universe. These books, focusing on magician siblings Sadie and Carter Kane exploring Egyptian mythology, comprise a trilogy:

  • “The Red Pyramid” (2010)
  • “The Throne of Fire” (2011)
  • “The Serpent’s Shadow” (2012)

Additionally, there are companion books like “The Kane Chronicles: Survival Guide” (2012) and “Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual” (2018), offering insights into Egyptian mythology.

Furthermore, Riordan penned “Demigods and Magicians,” a crossover series uniting Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Sadie Kane, and Carter Kane. These short stories culminated in the 2016 release of the collected book titled “Demigods and Magicians.”

Riordan’s take on Norse mythology, “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard,” follows Magnus Chase, Frey’s son and Annabeth’s cousin, endeavoring to prevent Ragnarok. The series encompasses three books, complemented by tie-in releases such as “Hotel Valhalla: Guide to the Norse Worlds” (2016) and “9 From the Nine Worlds” (2018).

“The Trials of Apollo” serves as the follow-up to “The Heroes of Olympus,” chronicling Apollo’s journey as a mortal named Lester Papadopoulos, striving to regain his godhood. This series spans five books accompanied by guidebooks like “From Percy Jackson: Camp Half-Blood Confidential” (2017) and “Camp Jupiter Classified” (2020).

Fans eagerly anticipate more from Riordan, given his consistent book releases. With the latest entry in the Percy Jackson series launching in September 2023, Riordan typically publishes at least one book per year, indicating the likelihood of forthcoming releases in the near future.