Ballon d’Or Dominance: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and the Legends Who Clinched the Most Titles!


The Ballon d’Or award is the pinnacle of individual success in football, symbolizing the recognition of the best player in the world. The list of past winners reads like a who’s who of footballing legends, showcasing the immense talent and impact of these players on the sport.

However, winning the Ballon d’Or multiple times elevates a player to legendary status. Only a select group of 10 players have achieved this remarkable feat, a testament to their exceptional skill and consistency on the field. These players have left an indelible mark on the sport, earning their place in an exclusive club of footballing greats.

At the top of this distinguished list is Lionel Messi, who holds the record with an astounding seven Ballon d’Or awards. Following closely behind is Messi’s perennial rival, Cristiano Ronaldo, who has claimed the honor five times. These two icons have defined an era of football and continue to inspire generations of players and fans alike.


While these 10 players have secured multiple Ballon d’Or awards, it’s worth noting that there have been 34 other players who have earned the accolade once in their illustrious careers. This further underscores the competitive nature of the award and the exceptional talent that has graced the footballing world over the years.


Rank Player Ballon d’Or
Years won
1. Lionel Messi 7 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012,
2015, 2019, 2021
2. Cristiano Ronaldo 5 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016,
3. Michel Platini 3 1983, 1984, 1985
Johan Cruyff 3 1971, 1973, 1974
Marco van Basten 3 1988, 1989, 1992
6. Franz Beckenbauer 2 1972, 1976
Ronaldo 2 1997, 2002
Alfredo Di Stefano 2 1957, 1959
Kevin Keegan 2 1978, 1979
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge 2 1980, 1981